HomeBlogGeneralWelcome Class of 2017

Welcome Class of 2017

Last night at the Evinrude Centre 7 new inductees were welcomed into the Peterborough & District Sports Hall of Fame.  From the social hour to the dinner, from the presentations by master of ceremonies Don Barrie to the acceptance speeches by the inductees or their representatives, the night ran flawlessly!

Mark Bedlington, (running game target) Pat Devlin (boxer), Ruth and Ernie Ferguson (figure skating), Jim Fife (softball), Don Sherry (softball umpire) and Estella Warren (synchronized swimming) are the 2017 inductees.  Their full biographies can be found by searching this site under the”Inductees” tab on the home page.

During the ceremony, Brent Delahey, representing the executive committee of the Jack’s Annual Golf Tournament, presented Hall chairman Ken Ruttan with 2 cheques totalling $16,015; the proceeds from the day of golf held at Pine Crest Golf and Country Club May 24, 2017.  This is one of two major fundraisers held by the Hall (the other is the Annual Car Draw) that helps with Hall operating costs, bursaries for student athletes, etc.

Thanks to the Cogeco staff who recorded the evening in its entirety.  This will air on Cogeco channel 700 on Thursday June 8, 2017 at 8:00pm.

Follow this link to the Peterborough Examiner coverage of the celebration.